DP appoints Okot as its whip in 11th Parliament

Written by on May 28, 2021

The Democratic Party (DP) has appointed Peter Okot, the Tochi County Member of Parliament as its whip in the 11th parliament. 

Okot who will be serving his second term as MP replaces the Kalungu West Member of Parliament Joseph Sewungu who last year crossed to the National Unity platform (NUP).

In an interview with our reporter, Okot says that their main duty is to mainly ensure solidity among the nine members of the Democratic Party in parliament. Okot will serve as the party whip for the next two and half years and will be deputized by the Mityana South MP Lumu Richard.

DP had 15 members of Parliament in the 10th Parliament, but 10 of them, including Mathias Mpuuga, Joseph Ssewungu, Medard Ssegona, Betty Nambooze, Muwanga Kivumbi, Allan Ssewanyana , Ssempala Kigozi ,Ssentongo Robinah , Veronica Namaganda and Florence Namayanja crossed to the National Unity Platform (NUP).

.The main role of the whip is to ensure party discipline, including ensuring that MPs attend voting sessions when it comes to key decisions but also vote according to their party’s official position.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track